+

Ally Network

LGBTIQ+ Ally Network logo

Southern Cross University’s Ally Network is a university-wide commitment to the inclusion, success and celebration of our lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and intersex (LGBTIQ+) students and colleagues. We believe that students and staff should be able to bring their whole selves to their study and work. Each Ally contributes to raising LGBTIQ+ awareness at the University by making support for gender and sexuality diversity visible and, if necessary, challenging homophobic and transphobic attitudes and behaviours.

An Ally is a point of contact for a student or staff member who may have a query or concern about a matter relating to their gender identity or sexuality diversity. Students or staff members who wish to discuss a matter may contact an Ally of their choice (please see list below). Allies are staff members of the University, with a genuine commitment to the principles of equality and social justice, who volunteer to take on this role.

The Ally Network champion is the University's Vice Chancellor, Professor Adam Shoemaker.

Message from the Vice Chancellor

"Southern Cross University proudly supports lesbian, gay, bi-sexual, transgender, queer and intersex (LGBTQI+) students and staff.

We deliver a range of initiatives to acknowledge, include and celebrate our gender and sexuality diverse students and colleagues.

The latest of these is the University’s Ally Network, which seeks to support students to feel welcome and able to thrive at Southern Cross University.

The Ally Network underpins our sense of justice and honouring of human rights - we are proud of our progressive, fair and inclusive environment. I commend the Ally Network to you."

Professor Adam Shoemaker

Professor Adam Shoemaker
Vice Chancellor

Role of Ally

An Ally is a staff member (academic or professional) with an understanding of the difficulties and discrimination faced by LGBTIQ+ people and who wishes to act as an advocate for a University free from harassment or discrimination based on a person’s sexuality or gender identity.

Although an Ally may not identify as LGBTIQ+, they actively support inclusiveness and equality at the University by;

  • helping to coordinate and/or attending LGBTIQ+ events at the University,
  • displaying LGBTIQ+ affirming material in their workplace,
  • assisting LGBTIQ+ students and staff with matters they wish to discuss,
  • maintaining strict confidentiality whilst dealing with enquiries, and
  • confidentially providing data and information regarding any enquiries to the Ally Network Coordinator.

Contact an Ally

Lismore Campus Allies

Simone Balzer
Project Coordinator, Student Equity & Inclusion Office
simone.balzer@scu.edu.au
02 6620 3362

Cathy Burton
Project Support Officer, Student Equity & Inclusion Office
cathy.burton@scu.edu.au
02 6620 3419

Helen Coleman
Senior Manager - Student Outreach
helen.coleman@scu.edu.au
02 6620 3428

Rob Cumings
Ally network Coordinator, Student Equity & Inclusion Office
rob.cumings@scu.edu.au
02 6626 9208

Kristin Den Exter
Manager, Academic Partnerships
kristin.denexter@scu.edu.au
02 6626 9250

Victoria Drury
Project Coordinator, Student Equity & Inclusion Office
victoria.drury@scu.edu.au
02 6626 9201

Rob Garbutt
Deputy Head of School (Teaching & Learning), School of Arts & Social Sciences
rob.garbutt@scu.edu.au
02 6620 3350

Simon Gibson
Application Delivery & Support Officer, Technology Services
simon.gibson@scu.edu.au
02 6626 9342

Trina Gray
Business Partner, Human Resource Services
trina.gray@scu.edu.au
02 6620 3744

Debra Johnston
Operations Manager, Lismore & External Students Association (LEXSA)
lexsaops@scu.edu.au
02 6626 9527

Anita Loneragan
Marketing Manager, Lismore & External Students Association (LEXSA)
lexsa@scu.edu.au
02 6626 9527

Kim McDonogh
Administration Assistant, Student Equity & Inclusion Office
kim.mcdonogh@scu.edu.au
02 6620 3422

Kara Morris
Team leader – Infrastructure, Technology Services
kara.morris@scu.edu.au
02 6626 9138

Jeanti St Clair
Lecturer, School of Arts & Social Sciences
jeanti.stclair@scu.edu.au
02 6620 3126

Julie Streckfuss
Lecturer, School of Health & Human Sciences
julie.streckfuss@scu.edu.au
02 6620 3989

Ann-Maree Wilkinson
Clubs & Awards Officer, Student Outreach
ann-maree.wilkinson@scu.edu.au
02 6620 3889

Curt Williams
Infrastructure Administrator, Technology Services
curt.williams@scu.edu.au
02 6620 3346

Gold Coast Campus Allies

Kendal Dorney
Marketing & Events Manager, CoastRs student association
coastrs@scu.edu.au
07 5589 3072

Rachel Edwards
Lecturer, Professional Experience, School of Health & Human Sciences
rachel.edwards@scu.edu.au
0447 3388 529

Megan Lee
Casual Academic, School of Health & Human Sciences
megan.lee@scu.edu.au
0415 643 743

Penny Leonard
Orientation & Induction Coordinator, Student Outreach
penny.leonard@scu.edu.au
07 5589 3247

Renee Parker
Manager – Shared Services Hub, Student Administration Services
renee.parker@scu.edu.au
07 5589 3260

Marin Simpson
Librarian, SCU Library
marin.simpson@scu.edu.au
07 5589 3170


Coffs Harbour Campus Allies

Jimzeena Le Cerf
Project Officer, Student Equity & Inclusion Office
jimzeena.lecerf@scu.edu.au
02 6659 3643

Robbie MacFarlane
Library Manager, SCU Library
robbie.macfarlane@scu.edu.au
02 6659 3230

Renee Nuske
Library Technician, SCU Library
renee.nuske@scu.edu.au
02 6659 3237

Training

Prior to commencing in the Ally role, staff are required to participate in a professional development training program coordinated by the Equity and Diversity Office, including;

  • EO Online,
  • Understanding Gender & Sexuality Diversity, and
  • Ally Role & Responsibilities.

Allies are recruited and trained on an on-going basis.

Ongoing Professional Development

An annual review meeting, facilitated by the Equity and Diversity Office, provides Ally Network members with the opportunity to share best practice, provide feedback, participate in skills enhancement activities and keep informed about current policy developments, legislative considerations and available resources.

Confidentiality

Confidentiality in conducting the Ally role and adherence to University policies and procedures is strictly observed. The name of any person(s) directly involved in matters discussed with an Ally is not divulged to any person(s) beyond the relevant Ally and others nominated in relevant policies and procedures.

Further Information

For any enquiries regarding the Ally Network please contact the Ally Network Coordinator, Rob Cumings. 

Top of Page