513 Students to graduate this Saturday

Published 9 May 2001

The second round of weekend graduations at Southern Cross University's Lismore campus will be held this Saturday, 12 May when the 369 graduands (graduates-to-be) able to attend the ceremonies gather to receive formal recognition of their qualifications.

A total of 513 Degrees will conferred in person or granted in absentia by the Chancellor, Dr. Lionel Phelps, at four ceremonies preceded by formal academic processions. The graduands will be addressed by the Vice-Chancellor, Professor John Rickard, and the graduates, as they will then have become, by a range of distinguished Occasional Speakers (see below).

One highlight will be the awarding of an Honorary Doctorate of Southern Cross University to local resident Lyndon Terracini, an acclaimed opera singer, Artistic Director of NORPA and Chief Executive Officer of the Queensland Biennial Festival of Music.

As is customary, the Isabella A Cappella choral ensemble, comprised of SCU graduates and current students, will provide musical interludes at each of the ceremonies. The group will embark on an extensive tour of Japan from late June.

By the end of the graduations, a total of 1391 former students will have been welcomed into the University's alumni community.

This Saturday's ceremonies will be held at 9.00am, 11.30am, 2.30pm and 5.00pm. A total of 1506 family members and friends have indicated their wish to attend. In addition, special awards will be presented to high performing students.

Ceremony details - Saturday 12 May 2001


9.00 am

School of Natural and Complementary Medicine

School of Nursing and Health Care Practices

Bachelor of Naturopathy

Bachelor of Naturopathy with Honours

Bachelor of Health Science in Nursing

Bachelor of Nursing

Graduate Certificate of Health Science

Master of Health Science

Prize winners:

The School of Natural and Complementary Medicine Award - Academic Achievement

Joy Leanne Mendel

The School of Natural and Complementary Medicine Award - Clinical Achievement

David Andrew Howell

The Warren Brauer Memorial Prize - Larisa Ariadne Justine Barnes

The Institute of Nursing Administrators Prize - Perpetual Shield and Award

- Kelly Jane Scott-McGrath

The Harry Shand Memorial Prize - Michelle May Harvey

Royal College of Nursing, Australia -The High Achiever Award 2000 - Julie

Ann Butler

Occasional Speaker: Professor Judith Clare RN, PhD(Massey), Foundation Professor of Nursing, Dean, School of Nursing and Midwifery, Flinders University of South Australia,


School of Resource Science and Management

Associate Degree of Applied Science (Resource Technology)

Bachelor of Applied Science

Bachelor of Applied Science with Honours

Bachelor of Applied Science (Forestry)

Master of Science

Doctor of Philosophy

Prize winners:

Lismore City Council Mayoral Prize for Waste Related Studies (Integrated Project) - Kylie Shea Robertson

Occasional Speaker: Mr Robert E Wilson BA(Syd), Chairman, Georges River Strategic Planning Committee, Member of the Board of Greenpeace Australia.


School of Contemporary Arts

School of Humanities, Media and Cultural Studies

Bachelor of Arts

Bachelor of Visual Arts with Honours

Master of Arts

Bachelor of Arts

Bachelor of Arts with Honours

Bachelor of Arts (Media Communications)

Doctor of Philosophy x 3

Prize winners:

The Casino Centenary Prize - Jaymee William Lee

The ABC North Coast Cultural Diversity Prize - Christopher Matthew Smith

The Northern Star Prize - Karen Ann Yeigh

Occasional Speaker: Lyndon Terracini HonDMusTheatre(CQU), Artistic Director and Chief Executive Officer of the Queensland Biennial Festival of Music, Artistic Director of NORPA.

5.00 pm

School of Exercise Science and Sport Management

School of Tourism and Hospitality Management

Bachelor of Human Movement Science

Bachelor of Human Movement Science with Honours

Master of Science

Diploma of Business Management

Diploma of Food Service Management

Bachelor of Business in Club Management

Bachelor of Business in Tourism

Graduate Diploma in International Tourism Management

Master of Business

Master of International Tourism Management

Doctor of Philosophy

University Medal:

Shane Rogerson - Bachelor of Human Movement Science (1st Class Honours)

Prize winners:

The Darrel Chapman Memorial Prize - Jason John Verden

The Australian Society of Sport Administrators, Northern Rivers Branch, Prize - Anna Jane Muldoon

The Australian Institute for Tourism Industry Management Prize - Sarah Louise Kirkland

Occasional Speaker: Mr John Thomson BAppSc(Monash), Manager, Human Resources, Ansett Air New Zealand Group.