Three Minute Thesis Competition 

3MT logo

The three minute thesis is a research communication competition developed by the University of Queensland which challenges research higher degree students to present a compelling oration on their thesis and its significance in just three minutes in language appropriate to a non-specialist audience.


Active PhD and Professional Doctorate (Research) candidates who have successfully passed their confirmation milestone (including candidates whose thesis is under submission) by the date of their first presentation are eligible to participate in 3MT competitions at all levels, including the Asia-Pacific 3MT competition. Graduates are not eligible.

SCU will select one student as their representative and will provide support to the student travelling to compete in Asia-Pacific 3MT competition. All competitors will be required to agree to media exposure for their presentation and research.

Please note: SCU will allow professional doctoral (coursework) candidates and masters candidates to compete at the SCU 3MT final and to win it, however SCU will select it's representative for the Asia-Pacific 3MT competition from the Active PhD and Professional Doctorate (Research) candidates. The winner and runner-up from each school will be selected to compete in the SCU final.

2020 Asia-Pacific 3MT competition details

  • SCU will not be particpating in the 2020 Asia-Pacific 3MT competion due to COVID-19

We look forward to your participation in 2021.