Controlled Technology

Controlled technology is listed in the Defence and Strategic Goods List (DSGL).

The DSGL is Australia's export control list of regulated defence and strategic goods and technology. It is divided into two parts.

Part 1 is the Munitions List which lists certain goods and technologies designed or adapted for military use or goods that are inherently lethal. It has 2 categories: Military Goods and Non Military Lethal Goods.

Part 2 is the Dual-Use List which lists equipment and technologies developed to meet commercial needs but which may be used either as military components or for the development or production of military systems or weapons of mass destruction. It has 10 categories.

  • Category 0: Nuclear Materials, Facilities and Equipment
  • Category 1: Materials, Chemicals, Micro-organisms and Toxins
  • Category 2: Materials Processing
  • Category 3: Electronics
  • Category 4: Computers
  • Category 5: Telecommunications and Information Security
  • Category 6: Sensors and Lasers
  • Category 7: Navigation and Avionics
  • Category 8: Marine
  • Category 9: Aerospace and Propulsion

A permit is required when exporting, supplying, brokering or publishing DSGL items.