Athena SWAN Charter

Strengthening our commitment to gender equity

Athena SWAN Charter logo

Southern Cross University is among more than 40 organisations in Australia participating in a pilot of the Athena SWAN gender equity accreditation program. The University has committed to the 10 principles of the Athena SWAN Charter and submitted an application for a Bronze Institutional Award.

This initiative aims to address the loss of so many women scientists, which the Australian Academy of Science describes as a significant waste of expertise, talent and investment, directly impacting our nation's scientific performance and productivity.

We will develop a series of robust long-term strategies and initiatives based on a strong knowledge of equity challenges in our workforce. In the long term we will strive to improve gender equity across Southern Cross University as a whole.

The project team

The Southern Cross University Athena SWAN project is sponsored by Professor Mary Spongberg, Deputy Vice Chancellor (Research) and led by Professor Anja Scheffers, Director, Southern Cross GeoScience. Specialist academic and professional staff form the project's self-assessment team as listed below. 

Senior Advisory Group

Deputy Vice Chancellor (Research)

Deputy Vice Chancellor (Academic)           

Pro Vice Chancellor (Students)     

Director, Southern Cross GeoScience                                                     

Prof Mary Spongberg

A/Prof Erica Wilson

Prof Nan Bahr

Prof Anja Scheffers

Core Working Group



Equity and Diversity

Gnibi College of Indigenous Australian Peoples

HR Services




Faculty of Science and Engineering

Southern Cross Geoscience


Ms Nicola Best

Prof Norm Sheehan

Mrs Sharon Farquhar

Ms Wendy Poole

Ms Stephanie Jarvis


Prof Bill Boyd

Dr Hanabeth Luke

Dr Renaud Joannes-Boyau

Advisory Group

Graduate School

Faculty of Science and Engineering



Faculty of Health  

Faculty of Business, Law and Arts

Southern Cross GeoScience

Prof Leslie Christidis

Prof Isaac Santos

A/Prof Danny Bucher

Dr Kathryn Taffs

Dr Rudi Meir

Prof Bill MacNeil


Professor Anja Scheffers Geomorphologist and ARC Fellowship recipient, Professor Anja Scheffers' research focuses on how coastal landscapes are formed and evolve over time by factors such as changing sea levels, storms, cyclones and tsunamis.