Research Grant Income Categories

The following summary provides a brief explanation of research grant income categories. For a more detailed description of the categories, the Current HERDC Specifications is available for download.

Category 1: Australian Competitive Grants

Category 1 consists only of those research schemes/programs listed on the Australian Competitive Grants Register (ACGR) for the current year (for example, some grants from the ARC, NHMRC etc.)

Category 2: Other Public Sector Research Income

Category 2 comprises funding from other government sources, including:

  • Australian Government schemes and business enterprises NOT listed on the ACGR
  • State and local governments and partly government owned or funded bodies
  • Research income from CRCs in which the University was not a core participant or signatory

Category 3: Industry and Other Research Income

Category 3 includes:

  • Research grants or contract research with Australian or international industry or non-Australian Government agencies
  • Funding through donations, bequests and foundations (both Australian and international)

Category 4: Cooperative Research Centre (CRC) Research Income

Category 4 consists of research income received from a CRC in which they were a core participant (i.e. a signatory to the CRC's Commonwealth Agreement.)