Previous APRA AMCOS songwriters' workshops

These APRA AMCOS workshops were filmed by Bachelor of Media students.

Video Selection of APRA Songwriters

Video - Joseph Tawadros

Joseph Tawadros

Joseph is one the world's leading oud performers and composers. He is well recognised in the Arab world and has been responsible for expanding the oud's notoriety in mainstream Western culture. He has composed for film and theatre, and toured extensively in Europe, America, Asia and the Middle East. Joseph won an ARIA award in 2013. He has performed and recorded with an array of artists, releasing nine albums, of which six received ARIA nominations for 'Best World Music Album', plus another nomination for his solo album The Prophet: Music Inspired by the Poetry of Kahlil Gibran.

Video - Gian Slater and Invenio

Gian Slater and Invenio

Prolific Australian vocalist and composer Gian is known for her agile and pure voice, virtuosic improvisations and inventive compositions. She has performed in jazz clubs and theatres around the world, released seven albums of original music and featured on many others. Invenio is an innovative ensemble of improvising and contemporary singers, experimenting with vocal group/choral form through conceptual composition, vocal technique, fluid improvising, choreographed movement and inventive performance, including feature performances with various artists. Debut album Gone, without saying in 2011.

Video - Caitlin Yeo

Caitlin Yeo

Caitlin, a highly accomplished and successful screen composer, loves telling stories with music. She has scored on over 20 TV and cinema documentaries including Bomb Harvest, Ochre and Ink, My America, and Footy Chicks; and five feature films including All My Friends are Leaving Brisbane, Black and White and Sex, Jucy, and The Rocket. Caitlin won the 2011 APRA Professional Development Award and the 2007 APRA Screen Music award (for Bomb Harvest). In November 2012 she was nominated for APRA-AGSC Screen Music award for the TV series Seduction in the City: The Birth of Shopping.

Video - Iva Davies

Iva Davies

Songwriter, guitarist and vocalist Iva Davies came to fame as the musical creative force and front man of the iconic Australian band Icehouse, leading the band since 1977 to an amazing 28 platinum records, eight top 10 albums and more than 30 top 40 singles. Hit songs include 'We Can Get Together', 'Great Southern Land', 'Hey Little Girl', 'Crazy' and 'Electric Blue'. Iva continues to showcase his musical skills for film, ballet, television and special events. 2011 and 2012 saw Iva and Icehouse headlining several major music festivals in Australia and New Zealand.

Video - Neil Murray

Neil Murray

Neil Murray is one of Australia's most respected and influential singer-songwriters. His art is driven by a sense of conscience, justice and honesty. His narratives reflect his affinity for the land and respect for Indigenous culture. Neil was a founding member of the Warumpi Band in the early eighties that propelled contemporary Indigenous music into mainstream Australia with song classics that include Blackfella Whitefella, Fitzroy Crossing, Stompin Ground, From the Bush, and My Island Home. Neil performs regularly at festivals and live music venues in Australia and overseas and has released several solo albums.

Video - Mia Dyson

Mia Dyson

Australian singer, songwriter, guitarist and 2005 ARIA winner for 'Best Blues & Roots album', Mia Dyson has returned to Australia after years of touring overseas and living in the USA. In this APRA songwriters' workshop, Mia shares her music-making process and stories about her life in the music industry, while treating us to some tunes.

Video - Husky


After winning Triple J Unearthed 2011, Husky continues to reach new heights, winning hearts with sold-out shows around the country. In this APRA songwriters' workshop, the band members - Husky Gawenda (vocals and guitar), Gideon Preiss (vocals and keys) Evan Tweedie (vocals and bass), and Luke Collins (drums and percussion) who is a Bachelor of Contemporary Music graduate from SCU, reveal how they gain inspiration to write and create music; and generously entertain us with their dreamy and infectious sound.

Video - Lucie Thorne

Lucie Thorne

Lucie, one of Australia's leading young soulful singer/songwriters, earned herself a loyal following with her unique blend of passionate folk/roots music. Lauded for her unique voice, poetic lyricism and tender-to-gutsy electric guitar playing, she is described as 'Australia's PJ Harvey… possessing the punch of Cat Power and the wise words of Joni Mitchell' (Courier Mail, Brisbane) and toured extensively across Australia, Canada, US and UK. Recordings include Black Across The Field, Bonfires in Silver City, and Where Night Birds Call. In 2013, Lucie and US singer-songwriter Pieta Brown formed the duo 'Lover Over Gold'. Fall to Rise is their debut album.

Video - Stiff Gins

Stiff Gins

Nardi Simpson and Kaleena Briggs have travelled the world, received prestigious awards, and created a loyal fan base with their heart songs and emotive performances. Their moniker is reclamation of an offensive reference to Aboriginal women, a banner to guide their music in the direction of strength and pride. In this APRA songwriters' workshop, the Stiff Gins share their stories, lyrics and powerful harmonies.

Scott Aplin

Scott Aplin is a highly successful Australian songwriter, keyboard player and producer. Since completing a Bachelor of Contemporary Music at SCU in the late 90s, Scott has performed and/or written with many Australian and international artists including Silverchair, Jessica Mauboy, Keith Urban, Jimmy Barnes, Lionel Ritchie, Noiseworks, Delta Goodrem, Natalie Bassingthwaighte, Shannon Noll, Richard Clapton, Take That, Ronan Keating, Natalie Imbruglia, Seal and Joel Madden. Scott has produced over 70 albums for the ABC Kids record label and composed for independent short films and television. In 2013, Scott was the Music Director of the popular TV music show, The Voice Australia.

2018 Masterclasses

Shellie Morris

March 15 2018 | Download the poster

Bernard Fanning

May 3 2018 | Download the poster

Harry James Angus

April 5 2018  |  Download the poster

Lior and Paul Grabowsky

May 31 2018  | Download the poster