Writing staff

Our Writing staff consists of a dedicated team of academic staff. The Course Coordinator of the Associate Degree of Creative Writing since 2013, Dr Lynda Hawryluk has been teaching Creative Writing for over a decade at several institutions. Lecturer in Writing Dr Emma Doolan recently joined the team after commencing her academic career at the University of Technology, Queensland.

Sessional academics with the School of Arts and Social Sciences include talented former staff and writers, Adjunct Lecturers Dr Moya Costello and Dr Janie Conway Herron.  Dr Nell Cook, Dr Jim Hearn, Dr Iris Curteis, Mr Nigel Hayes, Dr Katrina Finlayson and Ms Holly Lovegrove are Sessional Lecturers who bring a wide range of experiences and skills to the teaching team. Our colleagues Mr Kim Satchell (Cultural Studies), Dr Lisa Milner (Media), Associate Professor Grayson Cooke (Media) Dr Rob Garbutt (Communication and Cultural Studies) and Dr Jessica Seymour (HU University of Applied Sciences, Utrecht), participate in cross-disciplinary Honours and PhD supervision of Writing students.

Since 2013, Writing program staff and students have presented their work at annual readings held by the Lismore Regional Gallery. Since 1999, Writing staff have worked with students to produce Coastlines, an anthology of students’ creative writing. 

Our academic staff are involved in Writing discipline events and organisations, strongly contributing to writing festivals in the region and beyond. These include the Byron Writers Festival, Bellingen Readers and Writers Festival, Emerging Writers Festival, Gold Coast Writers Festival, Grassroots Writers Weekend and the Yamba Writers Festival. Dr Lynda Hawryluk is the SCU representative on the board of the Byron Writers Festival. Lynda is also the immediate past President/Chair of the Australasian Association of Writing Programs. Our academic research and creative work contributes to research in the writing discipline, with participation at international and national conferences.