Quicklinks How to apply
  1. Download and read the Bachelor of Health and Human Sciences Honours Program Handbook 2020 and direct any questions to the honours co-ordinator
  2. Approach a supervisor – complete a Supervision Agreement Form to be submitted with your application
  3. Write a one-page project proposal to be submitted with your application
  4. Apply online

Honours information

Admission requirements

Applicants for admission to candidature shall normally have satisfied the requirements prescribed in Rule 5 of the University’s Rules Relating to Awards; and shall hold an AQF Level 7 Health Science Bachelor Degree or equivalent with a Credit Grade Point Average. English language proficiency requirements may also apply.

Supervisors

Admission to the program is also subject to the availability of appropriate supervision. The following academic staff members, their research interests and contact information are listed here as potential supervisors. Other SCU academic staff may also be available, see school researcher profiles.

Dr Jacinta Arellano | (02) 6626 9339 | jacinta.arellano@scu.edu.au

  • Nutritional biochemistry, herbal medicine and plant constituents, and biomedical science

Dr Alex Barwick | (07) 5589 3332 | alex.barwick@scu.edu.au

  • Diabetic foot, peripheral arterial disease screening, footwear, lower limb biomechanics

Dr Kyle Bennett | (02) 6659 3183 | kyle.bennett@scu.edu.au

  • Expertise, skill acquisition, talent identification, sport psychology, esports

Dr Jessica Browne | (07) 5589 3395 | jessica.browne@scu.edu.au

  • Respiratory infectious disease; otitis media; clinical microbiology; antimicrobial resistance; microbe-host relationships; immunology

Dr Paul Butterworth | (07) 5589 3152 | paul.butterworth@scu.edu.au

  • Obesity and foot pain, foot surgery, chronic disease

Dr Mike Climstein | (07) 5589 3330 | michael.climstein@scu.edu.au

  • Water based research (surfing, stand up paddle boarding, etc) 

Associate Professor Rosanne Coutts | (02) 6620 3235 | Rosanne.Coutts@scu.edu.au

  • Sport and exercise psychology, exercise physiology, sport science, exercise science, exercise interventions, teaching and learning in health

Professor Marie Hutchinson | (02) 6659 3197 | marie.hutchinson@scu.edu.au

  • Nursing; nursing workforce; safety and quality; child and family nursing; patient participation; workplace bullying; domestic and family violence

Associate Professor Deb Massey | deb.massey@scu.edu.au

  • Learning and teaching, patient safety, clinical deterioration

Beth Mozolic-Staunton | (07) 5589 3149 | beth.mozolic-staunton@scu.edu.au   

  • Knowledge translation, prospective community-based design Occupational Therapy, Paediatrics, Early Intervention, School-based practice, Autism Spectrum Disorder, health and early childhood education workforce capacity building, service-learning and practice education.

Dr Alexia Rohde | alexia.rohde@scu.edu.au

  • Allied health care, evidence-based practice, epidemiology, acquired communication disorders

Dr Nedeljka Rosic | (07) 5589 3437 | nedeljka.rosic@scu.edu.au

  • Neurodegenerative diseases; Genetics; Medicinal bio-products; Environmental stress markers; Host-microbe interaction.

Dr Nasim Salehi | (02) 6620 3167 | nasim.salehi@scu.edu.au

  • Public health/health promotion, health services management/healthcare leadership, health and community services, social capital, social determinants of health, social policy and practice, social psychology, mental health and wellbeing, health psychology, citizen science, digital health, health education

Dr Kirstine Shrubsole | Kirstine.Shrubsole@scu.edu.au

  • Implementation science; evidence-based practice; knowledge translation; stroke rehabilitation; aphasia; acquired communication disorders; communication access; Parkinson’s disease

Dr Felicity Walker | felicity.walker@scu.edu.au

  • Nursing, nursing workforce, leadership, management, teamwork, supervision and delegation, clinical placement education, collegiality/ civility in the workplace, the new graduate nurse experience, communication

 

Top of Page

Projects

Top of Page

Scholarships

Scholarships are sometimes available.

Nursing and midwifery graduates may be eligible for the Northern NSW LHD GradStart Nursing and Midwifery Honours Scholarship Program outlined in the video below.

The Northern NSW LHD GradStart Nursing and Midwifery Honours Scholarship Program aims to support Bachelor of Nursing and Bachelor of Midwifery graduates to broaden their research skills and experience, by providing them with part-time employment as a new graduate whilst they undertake an Honours Scholarship Program at Southern Cross University. The Honours Program offers students a unique opportunity to design and conduct a research project at the Northern NSW LHD and produce a thesis of their work.

Northern NSW LHD GradStart Nursing and Midwifery Honours Scholarship Program

[Joshua Toope – Registered Nurse Honours Student]

 So one of the reasons I’ve chosen to do the honours grad program is the opportunities that I know it is going to open up in the future. I’d like to perhaps look at doing my masters one day and I think it is a good stepping stone on the way to getting there.

[Jana Joveljic- Registered Nurse Honours Student ]

I thought it was a great opportunity to pursue further studies whilst undertaking my graduate year and being supported by both the University and NSW Health in doing so.

[Joshua] Besides that, it also puts me in a good position to take on leadership roles in the future like CNS or nurse unit managing.

[Jana] I’d always known I wanted to pursue further studies. I’m interested in moving into critical care or education.

[Joshua] It gives me a two-year contract within the NSW Health Department and I really like the stability that kind of brings to my life.

[Jana] With the honours program you don’t have to attend university in person. It’s all online, which makes it a lot more flexible, but I prefer to go in person.

[Joshua] The workload has been extremely manageable because I’m sure as a lot of uni students are aware of we do tend to work quite a bit while doing our undergraduate studies. I’ve actually found that I’m working less now than while I was doing my undergraduate registered nursing degree.

 [Jana] One of the best things about this honours program is all the support that’s involved. We get a lot of support from our supervisors.

[Ryan Armstrong – Nurse Unit Manager] Support for me within the honours program, I guess, that’s the exciting thing. It interacts very much so with clinical leadership. So, for me I can pass on what I’ve found works in projects that I’ve been involved in. I think it’s a great transition for the student to work with them, utilising a structure from a clinical perspective and also an academic background and moulding that together to get the best outcomes for our patients.

[Jana] I would definitely recommend the program to any future student. It’s just a great opportunity to dip your toes into further study whilst also being supported.