Quicklinks How to apply
  1. Download and read the Bachelor of Health and Human Sciences (Honours) Program Handbook 2021 and direct any questions to the honours co-ordinator
  2. Approach a supervisor – complete a Supervision Agreement Form to be submitted with your application
  3. Write a one-page project proposal to be submitted with your application
  4. Apply online

Honours information

Admission requirements

Applicants for admission to candidature shall normally have satisfied the requirements prescribed in Rule 5 of the University’s Rules Relating to Awards; and shall hold an AQF Level 7 Health Science Bachelor Degree or equivalent with a Credit Grade Point Average. English language proficiency requirements may also apply.

  Supervisors

Admission to the program is subject to availability of appropriate supervision. The following academic staff members, their research interests and contact information are listed here as potential supervisors and related projects. Other SCU academic staff may also be available, see school researcher profiles and research portal.

Associate Professor Christina Aggar | Christina.Aggar@scu.edu.au

  • Primary health care, transition programs for new graduate nurses, clinical skills education, chronic care and rehabilitation, carers and caregiving, international students and nurses

Dr Kachina Allen | Kachina.Allen@scu.edu.au

  • Cognitive psychology, attention, perception, speech and language processing, psychophysiology

Dr Jacinta Arellano | (02) 6626 9339 | Jacinta.Arellano@scu.edu.au

  • Nutritional biochemistry, herbal medicine and plant constituents, and biomedical science

Dr Alex Barwick | (07) 5589 3332 | Alex.Barwick@scu.edu.au

  • Chronic foot disease, diabetes, screening for peripheral arterial disease, footwear, lower limb biomechanics

Dr Kyle Bennett | (02) 6659 3183 | Kyle.Bennett@scu.edu.au

  • Skill acquisition, expertise, talent, development, esports, performance analysis, sport science

Dr Jessica Browne | (07) 5589 3395 | Jessica.Browne@scu.edu.au

  • Respiratory infectious disease, otitis media, clinical microbiology, antimicrobial resistance, microbe-host relationships, immunology

Dr Paul Butterworth | (07) 5589 3152 | Paul.Butterworth@scu.edu.au

  • Obesity and foot pain, foot surgery, chronic disease

Professor Andrew Cashin | (02) 6620 3156 | Andrew.Cashin@scu.edu.au

  • Autism Spectrum Disorders

Dr Yingyan (Lisa) Chen | Lisa.Chen@scu.edu.au

  • Knowledge translation, process evaluation, change management, cardiovascular nursing research

Dr Mike Climstein | (07) 5589 3330 | Michael.Climstein@scu.edu.au

  • Water based research (surfing, stand up paddle boarding, etc.), DXA (segmental body composition)

Associate Professor Rosanne Coutts | (02) 6620 3235 | Rosanne.Coutts@scu.edu.au

  • Sport and exercise psychology, exercise physiology, sport science, exercise science, exercise interventions, teaching and learning in health

Dr Zachary Crowley-McHattan  | Zac.Crowley@scu.edu.au 0266 203 166

  • Motor control, motor learning, neuromuscular control, skill acquisition, skill analysis

Dr Elizabeth Emmanuel Elizabeth.Emmanuel@scu.edu.au

  • Women’s health, motherhood, domestic violence, learning, quality of life

Professor Marie Hutchinson | (02) 6659 3197 | Marie.Hutchinson@scu.edu.au

  • Nursing; nursing workforce; safety and quality; child and family nursing; patient participation; workplace bullying; domestic and family violence

Dr Elaine Jefford | (02) 6659 3973 | Elaine.Jefford@scu.edu.au

  • Maternity, women’s health, education/curriculum, clinical reasoning & decision-making, perinatal mental wellbeing, unregulated health workers (Doulas)

Associate Professor Deb Massey | Deb.Massey@scu.edu.au

  • Learning and teaching, patient safety, clinical deterioration

Dr Gayle McLelland | 0427 37 51 50 | Gayle.McLelland@scu.edu.au

  • Midwifery, midwifery education, interprofessional education, women’s health, maternal and infant health

Dr Karin Plummer | (02) 6620 9623 | Karin.Plummer@scu.edu.au 

  • Nursing, pain, oncology, paediatrics

Dr Alexia Rohde | Alexia.Rohde@scu.edu.au

  • Allied health care, evidence based practice, epidemiology, acquired communication disorders

Dr Nedeljka Rosic | (07) 5589 3437 | Nedeljka.Rosic@scu.edu.au

  • Neurodegenerative diseases, genetics, medicinal bio-products, environmental stress markers, host-microbe interaction

Lucy Shinners | 04104902144 | Lucy.Shinners@scu.edu.au

  • Artificial intelligence, digital technology, intensive care

Dr Kirstine Shrubsole | Kirstine.Shrubsole@scu.edu.au  

  • Implementation science, evidence-based practice, knowledge translation, stroke rehabilitation, aphasia, acquired communication disorders, communication access, Parkinson’s disease

Dr Christopher Stevens | 0411 797 245 | Christopher.Stevens@scu.edu.au

  • Sports science, exercise physiology, environmental physiology, training monitoring, exercise engagement

Dr Felicity Walker | Felicity.Walker@scu.edu.au 

  • Nursing, nursing workforce, leadership, management, teamwork, supervision and delegation, clinical placement education, collegiality/ civility in the workplace, the new graduate nurse experience, communication

Dr Nicola Whiteing | (02) 6620 3782  | Nicola.Whiteing@scu.edu.au

  • Nursing, preparation for practice, curriculum design, rural and remote nursing, workforce

Associate Professor Jacqui Yoxall | Jacqui.Yoxall@scu.edu.au

  • Deception detection and malingering, interpersonal violence and risk assessment, human response to trauma, interprofessional education, psychological assessment, program evaluation

 

Top of Page

  Projects

  • Measuring footwear: development of a tool to measure footwear use and related habits. Barwick@scu.edu.au
  • Technical and tactical performance during small-sided game variants in youth soccer. Bennett@scu.edu.au
  • Identifying the psychosocial characteristics of motorically gifted children. Bennett@scu.edu.au
  • Investigating the dynamic nature of nasopharyngeal colonisation in infants – this is a data-based project (not the MLST one if you still have the details on that). Browne@scu.edu.au
  • Antimicrobial activity of marine mollusc extracts against medically important microorganisms. Browne@scu.edu.au
  • Development of standardised methods in antimicrobial susceptibility testing against biofilms of medically important bacteria. Browne@scu.edu.au
  • Cardiac patient education Chen@scu.edu.au
  • Muscular control strategies during novel contraction modes Crowley@scu.edu.au
  • Effects of hypoxia on cognitive and motor performance Crowley@scu.edu.au
  • Clinical implication/efficacy of cross education training/intervention Crowley@scu.edu.au
  • Neuromuscular control of functional sports and training movements/methods Crowley@scu.edu.au
  • Barriers to skin cancer risk prevention strategies in surfers, swimmers and stand up paddle boarders Climstein@scu.edu.au
  • Impact of service dogs on well-being of those with post-traumatic stress disorder Coutts@scu.edu.au
  • Abortion Doulas (ethics approval granted). Exploring what personal life experiences relate to person’s decision to become a doula Jefford@scu.edu.au
  • Deteriorating Childbearing Woman (ethics approval granted). Exploring Australian midwives attitudes and sociocultural factors influencing their decision-making related to recognition of and response to maternal deterioration. Jefford@scu.edu.au
  • Deteriorating Childbearing Woman: Exploring educational strategies that specifically targets factors influencing midwife’s recognition and response to maternal deterioration. Jefford@scu.edu.au
  • Enhancing midwives’ capacity to support women with urinary incontinence through participation in a digital game-based workshop. Jefford@scu.edu.au
  • What is valued and what matters in a woman’s incontinence experience. Jefford@scu.edu.au
  • Genetic polymorphism in Cystic Fibrosis in association with microbial and pathophysiological profiles Rosic@scu.edu.au
  • Parkinson's disease aetiology related to meat consumption Rosic@scu.edu.au
  • Adaptability and flexibility of the Brisbane Evidence-Based Language Test when used in healthcare settings: a survey Rohde@scu.edu.au
  • Evaluation of dysarthria assessments used in acute hospital settings Rohde@scu.edu.au



Top of Page

  Scholarships

Scholarships are sometimes available.

Nursing and midwifery graduates may be eligible for the Northern NSW LHD GradStart Nursing and Midwifery Honours Scholarship Program outlined in the video below.

The Northern NSW LHD GradStart Nursing and Midwifery Honours Scholarship Program aims to support Bachelor of Nursing and Bachelor of Midwifery graduates to broaden their research skills and experience, by providing them with part-time employment as a new graduate whilst they undertake an Honours Scholarship Program at Southern Cross University. The Honours Program offers students a unique opportunity to design and conduct a research project at the Northern NSW LHD and produce a thesis of their work.

Northern NSW LHD GradStart Nursing and Midwifery Honours Scholarship Program

[Joshua Toope – Registered Nurse Honours Student]

 So one of the reasons I’ve chosen to do the honours grad program is the opportunities that I know it is going to open up in the future. I’d like to perhaps look at doing my masters one day and I think it is a good stepping stone on the way to getting there.

[Jana Joveljic- Registered Nurse Honours Student ]

I thought it was a great opportunity to pursue further studies whilst undertaking my graduate year and being supported by both the University and NSW Health in doing so.

[Joshua] Besides that, it also puts me in a good position to take on leadership roles in the future like CNS or nurse unit managing.

[Jana] I’d always known I wanted to pursue further studies. I’m interested in moving into critical care or education.

[Joshua] It gives me a two-year contract within the NSW Health Department and I really like the stability that kind of brings to my life.

[Jana] With the honours program you don’t have to attend university in person. It’s all online, which makes it a lot more flexible, but I prefer to go in person.

[Joshua] The workload has been extremely manageable because I’m sure as a lot of uni students are aware of we do tend to work quite a bit while doing our undergraduate studies. I’ve actually found that I’m working less now than while I was doing my undergraduate registered nursing degree.

 [Jana] One of the best things about this honours program is all the support that’s involved. We get a lot of support from our supervisors.

[Ryan Armstrong – Nurse Unit Manager] Support for me within the honours program, I guess, that’s the exciting thing. It interacts very much so with clinical leadership. So, for me I can pass on what I’ve found works in projects that I’ve been involved in. I think it’s a great transition for the student to work with them, utilising a structure from a clinical perspective and also an academic background and moulding that together to get the best outcomes for our patients.

[Jana] I would definitely recommend the program to any future student. It’s just a great opportunity to dip your toes into further study whilst also being supported.