Law Advisory Committee

Southern Cross University established an external evaluation committee, known as the Law Advisory Committee, to oversee the establishment of our law and paralegal courses. The Committee played a fundamental role in gaining accreditation for the Bachelor of Laws degree with the NSW Legal Practitioners Admission Board. The Committee continues to maintain that accreditation and oversees the implementation and operation of all awards offered by the School as well as forming part of the ongoing quality assurance procedures used by the School to ensure programs are current, reviewed and meet stakeholder needs.

Membership of the committee is by invitation of the Vice Chancellor and extends widely to stakeholders within the broad legal community who have an interest in the quality of the law programs offered and graduates produced by the School of Law and Justice. Stakeholders include:

  • Judges
  • Local law societies
  • Practical legal training providers
  • Regional and metropolitan law firms
  • Law schools from other Australian Universities

Members of the Committee actively contribute to the School's extracurricular activities, by:

  • Presenting lectures at the Summer Law School
  • Presenting guest lectures on campus
  • Judging in mooting competitions
  • Presenting careers seminars
  • Supporting work placements

The Committee's first chair was Mr Andrew Rogers QC, former Chief Judge of the Commercial Division of the Supreme Court of New South Wales and former Chancellor of Southern Cross University. The current chair is The Hon Greg James QC, former Supreme Court Judge and currently President of the Mental Health Review Tribunal and part-time member of the Law Reform Commission. Mr James was recently awarded a Honorary Doctorate of Law by Southern Cross University.

Current Membership

  • The Hon Greg James QC (Chair) - President, Mental Health Review Tribunal
  • Ron McCallum AO - Emeritus Professor, Sydney University Law School
  • Mr Bill Grace - Solicitor, WJ Grace & Co Solicitors; President of the Far North Coast Law Society
  • Ms Julie Granger - Barrister, 7 Wentworth Selbourne Chambers, Sydney
  • Ms Hazel Manson - Solicitor, Legal Aid Commission NSW
  • Ms Julie Perkins - Manager, Aboriginal Legal Service (NSW/ACT) Ltd, Northern Zone