Adjunct Appointments

Adjunct appointees are individuals whose appointment to the academic staff will enhance the teaching and/or research profile of the School of Law and Justice and Southern Cross University as well as stimulate cooperation between the School and other members of academic, business and professional communities.

Adjunct appointees enrich the School’s visibility, networks, research and teaching culture.

These positions are reserved for individuals of superior achievement and distinction in their primary professional endeavours and who have been recognised by peers as outstanding in their fields.


  • The Hon. Mr Justice David Ashton-Lewis SC, Former Justice of the High Court of Fiji
  • The Hon. Michael Kirby AC CMG, International jurist, educator and former judge
  • The Hon. Justice Francois Kunc, Supreme Court of NSW
  • The Hon. Margaret McMurdo AC, President of the Queensland Court of Appeal (Qld)
  • The Hon. Justice Brian Preston, Chief Judge, Land and Environment Court of New South Wales
  • The Hon. Justice Steven Strickland, Appeals, Federal Family Court of Australia (Adelaide)
  • Ms Raelene Webb, QC, Barrister and former President of the National Native Title Tribunal


  • Dr Jane Anderson, Assistant Professor of Anthropology, Museum Studies, NYU
  • Associate Professor Greta Bird, School of Law and Justice, SCU
  • Professor Daniela Carpi, Dept of English Studies, Faculty of Foreign Languages, University of Verona
  • Professor Andy Chiu Man Chung, HangZhou Normal University, China
  • Professor Andrew Clarke, College of Law and Justice, Victoria University, Melbourne
  • Dr Gregory Durston
  • Dr Allison Fish, TC Beirne School of Law, University of Queensland
  • Professor Michele Bracher Goodwin, Chancellor's Professor of Law, Director, Center for Biotechnology & Global Health Policy,
    University of California Irvine School of Law
  • Professor Peter Goodrich, New York University Abu Dhabi
  • Associate Professor Susan Heinzelman, Department of English and Centre for Women’s and Gender Studies, University of Texas at Austin
  • Associate Professor Terry Hutchinson, Visiting Fellow, Faculty of Law, QUT
  • Professor Jenny Hocking, Monash University
  • Adjunct Fellow Lance Jones, School of Law & Justice, SCU
  • Professor James R Martel, Department of Political Science, San Francisco State University
  • Mr Chris McGrath, Barrister
  • Professor Shaun McVeigh, Melbourne University
  • Professor Panu Minkkenen, Professor of Jurisprudence, Faculty of Law, University of Helsinki, Finland
  • Professor Renata Salecl, Institute of Criminology, Faculty of Law, University of Ljubljana
  • Professor Austin Sarat, Professor of Jurisprudence and Political Science, Amherst College
  • Associate Professor Jill Stauffer, Associate Professor and Director of Peace, Justice and Human Rights, Haverford College
  • Associate Professor Amelia Thorpe, University of NSW
  • Professor Ian Ward, University of Newcastle, UK
  • Professor Christopher Tomlins, Elizabeth J. Boalt Professor of Law, Faculty of Law, University of California
  • Professor Karin Van Marle, Department of Jurisprudence, University of Pretoria, South Africa
  • Professor Alison Young, School of Social and Political Sciences, Faculty of Arts, University of Melbourne


  • Bishop Gregory Homeming, Bishop of The Diocese of Lismore


  • The Hon. Janelle Saffin, Convenor of the Burma/Myanmar National Union Parliamentary Inaugural Human Rights Programme
  • The Hon. Tamara Smith, SCU Alumnus and NSW State Member for Ballina