English for Academic Purposes (EAP)

English for Academic Purposes (EAP) prepares students for study at Southern Cross University. EAP builds on existing English language abilities in reading, writing, speaking and listening. It then develops student’s academic and digital literacy practices, including researching, referencing, note taking, using the Southern Cross University Learning Management System and giving presentations.

Which level should I choose?

The level and duration of EAP will depend on a student’s English language at application.

Successful completion of EAP provides direct entry to a range of Southern Cross University degrees.

EAP1    Entry to courses with Academic IELTS 5.5 and 6.0 (CEFR B2)

EAP2    Entry to courses with Academic IELTS 6.5 (CEFR B2+)

EAP3    Entry to courses with Academic IELTS 7.0  (CEFR C1)

Students studying EAP must be on a student visa and class attendance is closely monitored as per Attendance Policy for ELICOS Programs.

When can I start?

Our intensive EAP course runs three times a year, just before university classes begin. Individual students’ EAP pathway lengths vary, depending on the number of weeks they require to enter their university course.

How to apply

International Application for Admission form

Leading into SessionWeeks of
English
Start
Date
End
Date

Session 2, 2020

Starts:

Monday 6th July

(O week 29/6/19)

50 3-Jun-19 12-Jun-20
45 8-Jul-19 12-Jun-20
40 12-Aug-19 12-Jun-20
35 23-Sep-19 12-Jun-20
30 28-Oct-19 12-Jun-20
25 2-Dec-19 12-Jun-20
20 20-Jan-20 12-Jun-20
15 24-Feb-20 12-Jun-20
10 30-Mar-20 12-Jun-20
5 11-May-20 12-Jun-20
 

Session 3, 2020

Starts:

Monday 2nd November

(O week 26/10/19)

50 8-Oct-19 16-Oct-20
45 11-Nov-19 16-Oct-20
40 16-Dec-19 16-Oct-20
35 3-Feb-20 16-Oct-20
30 9-Mar-20 16-Oct-20
25 20-Apr-20 16-Oct-20
20 25-May-20 16-Oct-20
15 29-Jun-20 16-Oct-20
10 3-Aug-20 16-Oct-20
5 14-Sep-20 16-Oct-20

EAP start dates leading to 2020 sessions

2020 Breaks:

  • Monday 23 December 2019 – Sunday 5 January 2020
  • Tuesday 14 April – Sunday 19 April
  • Monday 17 August – Sunday 23 August
  • Monday 21 December 2020 – Sunday 3 January 2021 

2020 Public Holidays:

  • Monday 27 January
  • Friday 10 April 
  • Monday 13 April 
  • Monday 4 May (Gold Coast Campus ONLY)
  • Monday 8 June (Lismore Campus ONLY)
  • Monday 5 October
Leading into SessionWeeks of
English
Start
Date
End
Date

Session 1, 2021

Starts:

Monday 1st March

(O week 22/2/21)

50 3‐Feb‐20 12-Feb-21
45 9‐Mar‐20 12-Feb-21
40 20‐Apr‐20 12-Feb-21
35 25‐May‐20 12-Feb-21
30 29‐Jun‐20 12-Feb-21
25 3‐Aug‐20 12-Feb-21
20 14‐Sep‐20 12-Feb-21
15 19‐Oct‐20 12-Feb-21
10 23‐Nov‐20 12-Feb-21
5 11‐Jan‐21 12-Feb-21
 

Session 2, 2021

Starts:

Monday 5th July

(O week 28/6/21)

50 1‐Jun‐20 11-Jun-21
45 6‐Jul‐20 11-Jun-21
40 10‐Aug‐20 11-Jun-21
35 21‐Sep‐20 11-Jun-21
30 26‐Oct‐20 11-Jun-21
25 30‐Nov‐20 11-Jun-21
20 18‐Jan‐21 11-Jun-21
15 22‐Feb‐21 11-Jun-21
10 29‐Mar‐21 11-Jun-21
5 10‐May‐21 11-Jun-21
 

Session 3, 2021

Starts:

Monday 1st November

(O week 25/10/21)

50 5‐Oct‐20 15-Oct-21
45 9‐Nov‐20 15-Oct-21
40 14‐Dec‐20 15-Oct-21
35 1‐Feb‐21 15-Oct-21
30 8‐Mar‐21 15-Oct-21
25 19‐Apr‐21 15-Oct-21
20 24‐May‐21 15-Oct-21
15 28‐Jun‐21 15-Oct-21
10 2‐Aug‐21 15-Oct-21
5 13‐Sep‐21 15-Oct-21

EAP start dates leading to sessions 1-3 2021

2021 Breaks:

  • Monday 21 December 2020 – Sunday 3 January 2021
  • Monday 12 April – Sunday 18 April
  • Monday 16 August – Sunday 22 August

2021 Public Holidays:

  • Tuesday 26 January
  • Friday 2 April
  • Monday 5 April
  • Monday 3 May (Gold Coast Campus ONLY)
  • Monday 14 June (Lismore Campus ONLY)
  • Monday 4 October