View all news

Awards celebrate outstanding alumni achievements


Brigid Veale
3 August 2010
The achievements of Southern Cross University’s outstanding alumni, spanning fields as diverse as business, the environment, education, health, sport and tourism, will be recognised at the Outstanding Alumni of the Year Awards on Friday, August 6.

Seven nominees are in the running for the 2010 Outstanding Alumnus of the Year Award, which recognises the outstanding achievements of Southern Cross University alumni and highlights the diversity and quality of the contributions SCU alumni have made to the enrichment of our society.

Alumni are selected according to exceptional leadership and achievement in their field of endeavour, outstanding service to the community and creativity and innovation in ideas or services.

There are also four finalists for the 2010 Young Alumnus of the Year Award, which recognises the achievements of graduates aged 35 years and under.

Ms Lana Nancarrow, Southern Cross University Alumni Relations manager, said there had been strong interest in the awards.

“We are delighted with the nominations we have received. This is a wonderful opportunity for Southern Cross University to recognise and highlight the outstanding contributions our former students are making in their chosen fields,” Ms Nancarrow said.

The nominees for the 2010 Alumnus of the Year are as follows.

Anna Guillan completed a Master of Business Administration in Hotel and Tourism Management in 2008. She is the executive general manager sales and marketing manager of Hayman and Mulpha Hotels Australia. She has held a number of senior positions in the tourism industry and co-founded the NELUNE Foundation, which has raised funds to help provide psychological and practical support for public hospital and underprivileged cancer patients in the community.

Craig Phillips, secretary general for the Australian Olympic Committee (AOC), graduated with a Master of Business Administration in 2000. Craig has been instrumental in the continuing development of programs which showcase the Olympic movement’s strong commitment to youth and the community. He has had overall responsibility for the development and implementation of the AOC High Performance Plan.

Dermot O’Gorman is the chief executive officer of the World Wide Fund for Nature (WWF) Australia. He graduated with an Associate Diploma in Applied Science in 1988 and has gone on to have an outstanding career in the environmental field, including head, Government and Aid Agency Partnerships for WWF’s International Program. Dermot has established a number of community-based projects that assist sustainable development and has worked extensively with local partners on panda conservation and community development in China.

Gordon Fraser-Quick graduated with a Bachelor of Applied Science in 1995 and a Graduate Diploma of Education in 2003. An environmental consultant, Gordon has been involved in numerous environmental repair and rehabilitation projects and supervised the construction of the world’s largest vermiculture facility. Gordon has received seven community service awards and has been the founder and active member of a range of community associations. He was instrumental in the formation of the Northern Rivers Climate Change Collaboration, a model now being repeated in regional centres throughout Australia.

Four of the proprietors of Goulds Naturopathica in Hobart are Bachelor of Naturopathy graduates. Daniel Robson graduated with a Bachelor of Naturopathy in 2003; Dawn Whitten graduated with a Bachelor of Naturopathy with Honours in 2006; Jason Hawrelak, graduated with Bachelor of Naturopathy with Honours in 2001 and a Doctor of Philosophy in 2007; and Belinda Robson graduated with an Associate Degree in Applied Science in 2000 and a Bachelor of Naturopathy in 2003. The group is dedicated to developing best practice naturopathic clinical treatment and has developed and extended the understanding of medicinal herbs by growing, manufacturing and dispensing medicines.

Hyder Gulam, an Associate at Logie-Smith Lanyon in Melbourne, graduated with a Master of Business Administration in 2005. Hyder, who is a former member of the Australian Air Force and a Registered Nurse, is co-founder of the Muslim Legal Network and is an executive member of the Islamic Council of Victoria. He has a strong commitment to social and ethical advancement and is actively involved with the Australian Red Cross (International Humanitarian Law committee) and the Law Institute of Victoria (International Law Section).

Raelene Mordecai, graduated with a Bachelor of Education in 2006 and is a teacher at the Casino Public School. She has made a significant contribution to the education of Aboriginal students and has been responsible for co-ordinating training, development and direction of Aboriginal education at the school. She has had responsibility for planning and presenting Aboriginal Education Training workshops and has been a contributing member of the NSW Department of Education, Director General’s Aboriginal Education and Training Reference Group.

The 2010 Young Alumnus of the Year nominees are:
Caroline Jackson, who graduated with a Diploma of Sport Management (Surfing Studies) in 2005 and now operates her own business, Hawaiki Surfboards; Rachel Bernauer, who graduated with a Bachelor of Business in Tourism and Hospitality Management in 2000 and is the producer digital marketing for Tourism Australia; Madalyn Scerri, graduated from The Hotel School Sydney in 2010 with a Bachelor of Business in Hotel Management, and is currently completing a Bachelor of Business in Hotel and Resort Management with Honours; and Steve Price, who graduated with a Master of Business Administration in 2010, a Queensland and Australian rugby league representative and current captain of the New Zealand Vodafone Warriors.

The winners of the 2010 Outstanding Alumnus of the Year and the 2010 Young Alumnus of the Year will be announced at an event in Ballina on the evening of Friday, August 6.

Photo: The trophy for the 2010 Outstanding Alumnus of the Year, made by Southern Cross University Bachelor of Arts student Erika Mayer, will be presented on Friday evening.