View all news

Impressive list of nominees for Alumni of the Year Awards


Steve Spinks
23 August 2012
Kathy Mokaraka will be the keynote speaker at the Southern Cross University 2012 Alumni of the Year Awards at Byron Bay on Friday August 24.

Ms Mokaraka was named as SCU Outstanding Alumnus of the Year for 2011 after being recognised for her work with the Ruah Community Services in Western Australia’s Department of Health. Since winning the 2011 Outstanding Alumnus of the Year Award, Kathy has completed a Masters Certificate in Global Mental Health with the Harvard Program and Ministry of Italy.

Ms Mokaraka develops and facilitates healing therapies for Aboriginal women, both in the prison system and in the wider community. She graduated from SCU with a Master of Indigenous Studies in 2008.

This year’s nominees includes musicians (Glen Hannah and Andy Mison), a manager of an arts program (Julie Barratt), a social scientist (Rosemary Norman-Hill), deputy director-general of schools for the NSW Department of Education and Communities (Gregory Prior), a director of communications and donor relations communications at WorldFISH (Fiona Chandler), a criminal defence lawyer at the forefront of protecting juveniles charged with people smuggling (Edwina Lloyd), a chair of the United Nations Working Group on Human Rights and Transnational Corporations (Dr Puvan Selvanathan), and a chief executive officer of an award winning club (Matthew O’Hara).

Meanwhile, the list of nominees for SCU Young Alumnus of the Year is also impressive. Tanya Camplin, a tourism graduate who went on to become a local government councillor at the age of 23, was last year’s winner.

Nominees include a co-founder and director of a specialist community development consulting firm (Kiri Dicker), a social and environmental manager at a luxury resort in the Maldives (Abram le Cerf), a club manager (Jason McKey) and a communications and event specialist (Nadine Smith).

The winners will be named at a ceremony at The Bistro, North Byron, by Southern Cross University Chancellor The Hon John Dowd AO QC and Vice Chancellor Professor Peter Lee.

Alumni Relations Manager for SCU, Dan Sloan, said the list of nominees was impressive.

“The calibre of each nominee is very high,” he said.

“It is always exciting to see former students go on to have distinguished careers and the Alumni of the Year Awards recognise our exceptional alumni and their outstanding achievements.”

The School of Arts and Social Sciences, the Southern Cross Business School, the School of Education, the School of Environment, Science and Engineering, the School of Law and Justice and the School of Tourism and Hospitality Management will also announce Alumnus of the Year winners.

Photo: Kathy Mokaraka.