Excellence in Research for Australia (ERA)

ERA is the Excellence in Research for Australia initiative. It was developed by the Australian Research Council (ARC) in conjunction with the Department of Innovation, Industry, Science and Research.

ERA aims to identify and promote excellence across the full spectrum of research activity, including discovery, experimental and applied research within Australian higher education institutions.

One of the measures of performance is publication in the more than 25,000 journals included in the ERA list (2018). This list was developed for the sole purpose of supporting the ERA initiative, and includes journals that are scholarly, peer reviewed or assessed by a professional organisation, and publishing original research.

ERA was run for the first time in 2010, repeated in 2012, 2015 and in 2018. Scopus was the provider of citation data for the first three ERA reviews. For ERA 2018, Web of Science, produced by Clarivate Analytics, was the citation provider.

The next round of ERA will take place in 2023.

Reference Periods

Submission data for ERA 2023 will be collected for the following reference periods:

Data type

Reference Period


Research Outputs

1 January 2016 – 31 December 2021


Research Income

1 January 2019 – 31 December 2021


Staff Census Date 

As at 31 March 2022


More information can be accessed on the ARC's ERA 2023 web pages, and information about ERA Journal list.


The ARC will use the Australian and New Zealand Standard Research Classification (ANZSRC) 2020 Fields of Research codes for ERA 2023.

Journal List

The ARC will consult with Australian Higher Education Providers and discipline peak bodies on the draft ERA 2023 Journal List (with ANZSRC 2020 Fields of Research codes) in 2022.

Excellence in Research for Australia (ERA) is an independent assessment coordinated by the Australian Research Council (ARC). It is designed to assess research quality in Australia's higher education institutions by measuring the research performance of universities.

ERA assesses research at the discipline level and uses the Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) Field of Research (FoR) Codes at the 6-digit level to categorise research.

Southern Cross University's research in fourteen key areas has been given the highest possible classification of 'well above world standard' in the Excellence in Research for Australia (ERA) 2018 national report.

  • Earth Sciences (04)
  • Geochemistry (0402)
  • Oceanography (0405)
  • Environmental Science and Management (0502)
  • Ecology (0602)
  • Zoology (0608)
  • Agricultural and Veterinary Sciences (07)
  • Crop and Pasture Production (0703)
  • Fisheries Sciences (0704)
  • Forestry Sciences (0705)
  • Civil Engineering (0905)
  • Resources Engineering and Extractive Metallurgy (0914)
  • Complementary and Alternative Medicine (1104)
  • Nursing (1110)

The University also received the classification of 'above world standard' and 'world standard' in an additional 9 research areas:

  • Environmental Sciences (05)
  • Soil Sciences (0503)
  • Biological Sciences (06)
  • Engineering (09)
  • Medical and Health Sciences (11)
  • Human Movement and Sports Science (1106) 
  • Curriculum and Pedagogy (1302)
  • Tourism (1506)
  • Policy and Administration (1605)

Further information on our ERA outcomes can be found at:

Top of Page