Human Research Ethics Committee (HREC)

The Human Research Ethics Committee of Southern Cross University has been set up as an advisory committee to the Vice Chancellor. Membership of this Committee is voluntary. The Committee membership follows the guidelines set down by the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) and comprises:

Chair and University staff (Category A)
Emeritus Professor Colleen Cartwright

Laypersons not associated with the University (Category B)
Dr Liz Baker
Dr Karen McFadyen
Andrew Hodder

Persons with knowledge of, and current experience in, the professional care, counselling or treatment of people (Category C)
Professor Stephen Myers

Persons who performs a pastoral care role in a community (Category D)
Dr Robert Lingard (Minister of Religion)
Dr Stuart Barlo (Indigenous Representative)

Lawyer (Category E)
Dona Graham 
Associate Professor Nicole Rogers 

Researchers (Category F)
Dr Golam Sorwar
Dr Zachary Crowley-McHattan
Dr Lynne McPherson

Secretary and Administration