To study in Australia you must have a valid Australian visa.

Student visas are temporary visas that allow people to come to Australia for a specified period to study at an Australian institution.

In Australia, student visas are issued by Department of Home Affairs.

Education Services for Overseas Students (ESOS)

The Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency (TEQSA) monitors and regulate the higher education sector's involvement with overseas students studying in Australia on Student Visas. Higher education providers must meet minimum standards set by TEQSA to enable registration under the ESOS (Education Services for Overseas Students) Act. This protects Australia's reputation for delivering quality education services and the interests of overseas students by setting minimum standards and providing tuition and financial assurance.

The ESOS Act mandates a nationally consistent approach to registering education providers so that the quality of the tuition and care of students remains high. The professionalism and integrity of the industry are further strengthened by the ESOS Act's interface with immigration law. This imposes visa-related reporting requirements on both students and providers.

The National Code is a set of nationally consistent standards that govern the protection of overseas students and the delivery of courses to those students by providers and registered on the Commonwealth Register of Institutions and Courses for Overseas Students (CRICOS). ESOS Framework.

Commonwealth Register of Institutions for Overseas Students (CRICOS)

Higher education providers in Australia must be registered to enrol overseas students in specific courses. Registered providers have a CRICOS (Commonwealth Register of Institutions for Overseas Students) code and a specific CRICOS course code. This registration guarantees the provider and the course meet the high standards necessary for overseas students. Commonwealth Register of Institutions and Courses for Overseas Students.

Tuition Protection Service

Recent changes to the ESOS Act have further strengthened protections for international students through the introduction of the Tuition Protection Scheme (TPS). The TPS is an initiative of the Australian Government to assist international students whose education providers are unable to fully deliver their course of study. The TPS ensures that international students are able to either complete their studies in another course or with another education provider or receive a refund of their unspent tuition fees. Visit the TPS website for more information.

National Code 2018

The complete National Code 2018 fact sheets.

SCU University Policies and Procedures

The University has also developed the following procedures to support students and as required by the ESOS National Code 2018: