Law Advisory Committee

Southern Cross University’s Law Advisory Committee (LAC) consists of prominent local, regional and national stakeholders who advise the Dean of Law and the Management Team on the strategic direction by providing advice on and assistance in core business, as well as by linking ‘town’ and ‘gown’.

To give just one example: in the early years, the Law Advisory Committee was fundamental in securing accreditation for the Bachelor of Laws from the NSW Legal Practitioners Admission Board.

Membership of the committee is by invitation of the Vice Chancellor and extends to stakeholders within the broader community who have an interest in the quality of programs offered, the kind of research undertaken and the calibre of graduates produced by the Faculty.

The first Chair of Southern Cross University’s Law Advisory Committee was The Honourable Andrew Rogers AO QC. A former Chief Judge of the Commercial Division of the Supreme Court of New South Wales, the Honourable Andrew Rogers was also the inaugural Chancellor of Southern Cross University.

The current Chair is The Honourable Margaret McMurdo AC QC, former president of the Queensland Court of Appeal, a position she held from 1998 - 2017. She was the second president and first woman appointed as a presiding judge of an appellate court in Australia. She is the current Chair of Legal Aid, Queensland.


Current membership


The Honourable Margaret McMurdo AC, former President of the Queensland Court of Appeal

Deputy Chair:

The Honourable Justice François Kunc SC, NSW Supreme Court, Equity Division


  • The Honourable Ms Tamara Smith MP, Member for Ballina
  • Ms Sophie Anderson, Barrister, Commercial Bank Chambers
  • Ms Julie Granger, Barrister, 7 Wentworth Selborne Chambers
  • Mr Ronny Susanto JP
  • Ms Johanna Byrne, Associate, Rae & Partners Lawyers
  • Adjunct Professor Greta Bird, Southern Cross University