Meet our Law team

Students studying outdoors at the Gold Coast campus

A group of leading scholars drive our agenda for cutting-edge legal critique, teaching and public debate.


Executive team Course coordinators Academics Practice professionals Adjunct staff Law Advisory Committee (LAC)

Executive team

Portrait of David Heilpern

Associate Professor David Heilpern

Chair of Discipline (Law)

David Heilpern was a Magistrate and judicial trainer from 1998 to 2020. Prior to this appointment, David was a litigation lawyer on the North Coast where he co-founded the law school at SCU in 1992, David graduated with a Masters in Law from SCU and was the Alumni of the Decade in 2005. In August 2022 was appointed as a Dean and Chair of Discipline (Law) at SCU. David is passionate about legal education, seeking to ensure that students are stimulated, excited and fulfilled.

Course coordinators

Portrait man in front of bookshelves

Dr John Orr

Course Coordinator

BHumanMvSt(UQ), LLB(Hons)(SCU), PhD(QUT) Master of Laws (Business Law), Master of Business Law, Graduate Certificate in Business Law, Bachelor of Laws & Double Degrees in Law, Bachelor of Legal and Justice Studies, & Associate Degree in Law (Paralegal Studies), Senior Lecturer

Rohan Price Profile

Dr Rohan Price

HDR Convenor and Honours Coordinator, Lecturer



Emma Babbage

Ms Emma Babbage

Casual Academic (Teaching)

BArts(SCU), BEd(SCU), LLB(Hons)(SCU)

Julia Cook

Ms Julia Cook

Casual Academic (Teaching)

BA(Hons)(Murdoch), LLB(Hons)(Melb)

Head and shoulders - Dr Georgina Dimopoulos

Dr Georgina Dimopoulos

Senior Lecturer

Dr Georgina Dimopoulos is an Australian lawyer and a socio-legal researcher with expertise in legal and policy evaluation, and doctrinal, qualitative and empirical research, across the areas of family law, children's rights, privacy and family violence. Her book, Decisional Privacy and the Rights of the Child (Routledge, 2022), presents a new model for enabling and listening to children’s voices in decision-making processes.

Warwick Fisher

Mr Warwick Fisher

Lecturer (Teaching Scholar)

BEd(JCU), BLegS(Macq)

Dr Jonathan Harlen


BA (VUW), LLB(Hons) (SCU)

Yvette Holt

Ms Yvette Holt


BA(Hons)(Syd), LLB(Hons)(Syd), LLM(Hons)(Camb)

Lance Jones

Mr Lance Jones

Casual Academic (Teaching), Adjunct Fellow

AssocDipSocial Work(UniSA), BA(UNE), LLB(UNE), GradCert(OutdoorEd)(UniSA), LLM(LP)(ANU)

Professor Brendon Murphy

Professor Brendon Murphy


Brendon Murphy commenced as Professor of Law in February 2024. Prior to that, he has held posts at the Australian Catholic University, University of Canberra, the University of Newcastle, and the University of the Sunshine Coast. He began his academic career as a tutor of criminal law in 2007. He was awarded his doctorate (by thesis) in 2015. Brendon holds degrees in Social Work (BSW(Hons) and Law (LLB(Hons I)) and a Diploma of Legal Practice.

Jennifer Neilsen

Associate Professor Jennifer Nielsen

Associate Professor

BSc(Monash), LLB(Hons)(Monash), PhD(Melb)

Student in graduation dress

Dr Meri Oakwood

Sessional Lecturer and Unit Assessor

BSc(Hons)(Macq), LLB(Hons)(SCU), PhD(ANU)

Mr Aidan Ricketts



Dr Tom Round


BA(Hons)(Qld), LLB(Qld), PhD(Griff)

Mandy headshot

Associate Professor Mandy Shircore

Associate Professor

Prior to joining SCU in 2022, Mandy held positions as the Director of Pro Bono Centre (UQ), academic and Head of Law (JCU) and has worked as a lawyer in the private and public sector. Mandy has worked with the community legal sector as solicitor, clinical legal educator and management committee member. Her research interests include torts law, health law and legal education. Mandy was named as an inspirational academic by the Women Lawyers Association of Queensland in 2019, 2020, 2021.

Emma Somerville

Ms Emma Somerville

Casual Academic (Teaching)

BA(Jurisprudence)(Adelaide), LLB(Adelaide), GradDipLegPrac(UniSA)

Dr Brendan Walker-Munro

Senior Lecturer

Prior to joining SCU today, Brendan was a Senior Research Fellow with UQ’s Law & the Future of War research group. He has published 30 articles in the UNSW Law Journal, Federal Law Review (both ‘top 4’), Adelaide Law Review, Cambridge Law Review, and in specialist journals such as Military Law and Law of War Review, Critical Criminology, and Torts Law Journal. In 2022 he appeared on SBS’ Insight special on identity crime, and gave a TEDxUQ talk on digital privacy law last year.

Helen Walsh

Ms Helen Walsh

Lecturer (Teaching Scholar)

AssocDipBus(UNE), LLB(SCU), LLM(QUT)

Mark Wellard

Associate Professor Mark Wellard

Associate Professor

Mark is a leading insolvency, corporate and commercial law academic, having previously practised as a lawyer in Australia, the UK and as Legal Director of ARITA, Australia's peak professional association for insolvency practitioners. Mark is a member of The Law Council of Australia's Insolvency & Restructuring Committee. Mark's professional experience and engagement inform both his teaching and research. Mark is passionate about readying law students for the demands of legal practice.

Practice professors

The Practice Professorial Program in the Law Discipline at Southern Cross University fosters professional engagement and builds linkages between the Faculty and professional practice.

It does so by inviting accomplished and respected current or former legal practitioners to take up pro bono adjunct professorial roles and to work with the Faculty on relevant activities.

The program is a unique opportunity for the profession to influence the academic life of the Faculty, while also enabling staff and students to engage with leading local, national and international practitioners.