The Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency (TEQSA) Act 2011 established TEQSA as the agency to oversee national regulatory and quality assurance for Australian higher education. Its primary aim is to ensure that all students (domestic and international) receive a high-quality education with any Australian higher education provider.

SCU is registered as a Higher Education Provider under the TEQSA Act.

The Higher Education Standards Framework (Threshold Standards) 2021 applies to Southern Cross University from 24 April 2021.

The Higher Education Standards contain 7 Domains as well as the Criteria for Higher Education Provider Categories, B1.3 'Australian University' Category.

  1. Student Participation and Attainment
  2. Learning Environment
  3. Teaching
  4. Research and Research Training
  5. Institutional Quality Assurance
  6. Governance and Accountability
  7. Representation, Information and Information Management

Other instruments which impact on Quality Assurance and which apply to the University include –

  • Australian Qualification Framework (AQF)
  • TEQSA assesses applications for inclusion on the Commonwealth Register of Institutions and Courses for Overseas Students (CRICOS)
  • TEQSA’s regulatory authority under the Education Services for Overseas Students Act (ESOS Act 2000)
  • National Code of Practice for Registration Authorities and Providers of Education and Training to Overseas Students 2007 (National Code)
  • TEQSA’s regulatory responsibility for English Language Intensive Courses for Overseas Students (ELICOS) includes the ELICOS National Standards
  • The Higher Education Support Act (HESA Act 2003) also contains Quality Assurance requirements that apply to the University.

TEQSA provides updates and guidance to the Higher Education Sector. TEQSA's latest news.